Sunday, December 23, 2007

Strawberries with Chocolate Flavoured Cream

Actually, I bought this Chocolate Flavoured Cream for making Vegan Chocolate Mousse Dessert. In the end, We used it for the lovely strawberries.

The ingredients for the chocolate flavoured cream: sugar, vegetable oil, cocoa powder, emulsifier & flavour.

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Wow, it sure looks appetising.
But I wonder if the emulsifier in its ingredient is vegetarian? I understand that emulsifier like gelatin unless specifically mentioned that it is soy-based or vegetarian are usually Non-vegn?
(you may refer to http://www.ivu.org/faq/gelatine.html;
http//www.ivu.org/faq/ingredients.html)
Nowadays, I will generally avoid buying sweets & products that contain the 2 but did not specify if vegetarian.

dreamy said...

Yes, anonymous has a point, many enulsifiers are not vegetarian not vegan. Have to find out from the company :)

Crystal @ Blog*Spot said...

Hi Anonymous

Yes.

Emulsifier is an ingredient used in many food products to facilitate the mixing of liquids that would otherwise not mix (e.g. oil and water). Emulsifiers can be derived from plant or animal sources.

Just do a rough scan at the supermarkets, Emulsifier is used in ice cream, some milk, biscuit, bread etc.

Google and get this below listof food additives & emulsifer :
http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutrition/non-vegetarian-food-additives.htm

Usu. emulsifier from plant source is cheaper, but we can't assume that it is from plant source. I need to check with the shop again.

Cheers :)

Related Posts with Thumbnails